Brotherly love

When I was little a man had got on the same bus my mother and I  were on and as he walked to find a seat his eyes fell and my mother, and then me, and then he stopped right in front of us. At first he simply stared for a few seconds without saying word, then all of a sudden this complete stranger started to yell at my mom.

I look exactly like my mother, there is no denying that she gave birth to me. The only difference between the two of us is my mother’s complexion is a darker than mine, and my eyes are hazel while hers are dark brown.

The words the man was yelling at my mother was traitor. He felt like she had betrayed her race by making a mixed baby, and how she should go to hell for what she did and so should I. He called me all kinds of names and said I was “un-pure” and should have never been born and how my mom should be ashamed for what she did. As I listened to the mans words, I looked at my mother with my eyes full of tears not fully understanding what was going on, she then just grabbed my hand, looked that man in the eyes and simply said “Sir, God Bless you,” and we got off the bus. When we had gotten off she looked at me, wiped the tears from my face and told me not to cry, she said that the man’s heart was full of hate, but it was not his fault, he was never taught any better.

 

My mother was right; no one is ever born with hate in their hearts, it is something learned, and people seldom realize how strong of an effect even the tiniest acts of hate have on the world. I wondered what that man had experienced in his life to make him feel so strongly that me being bi- racial was such an abomination. You see, no one ever wakes up one day suddenly so full of hate that they decide to go and shoot up an elementary school, or kill an innocent 17-year-old boy on his way home from buying skittles and an ice tea from the store… or beat a teenage Muslim girl to death just because she is Muslim. It is a seed that has been planted on the inside of them and has kept growing until one day it can no longer be contained. Hate is a rippling cycle and it’s only mission is to destroy everything that comes its way. There is no good that can come out of hate it only leads to even more hate, more hurt, more fear and in turn more lives being  taken before their time. Beacause the truth is people only hate what they don’t understand; what is not understood eventually becomes feared. But why would you fear your brother or your sister? When you hate the one beside you that is exactly who you are hating, one of your own. We might look different, speak different langauges or come from different places but we are still all one. It is a scientific fact that we all possess one gene that originated from the same person. When you love you aren’t just spreading love to a random stranger, you are loving your own, no matter how “different” they may seem from you. So instead of letting differences divide us, let’s rise above them and love all the hate out of this world we live in..

Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that.

-MLK

Rest in peace #PhilandoCastile #CharleenaLyles #NabraHassanen, and  the list goes on……

 

